The Board of Trustees

Wofford College has 31 trustees who serve as the legal governing body of the college under the conditions of the will of the Rev. Benjamin Wofford and the state charter of 1851. Trustees are elected by the South Carolina Annual Conference of the United Methodist Church.

The following list identifies those persons who serve as trustees for the 2023-2024 academic year.

Ashley Richardson Allen (Vice Chair)
Charlotte, NC

Ronald A. Andrews '81
Nashville, TN

John E. Bauknight, IV '89
Spartanburg, SC

Thomas L. Bower, III '74
CEO, Clipper Petroleum
Gainesville, GA

Christopher A. P. Carpenter ’90 (Chair)
Attorney, Political Consultant
Atlanta, GA

Katherine A. Close '83
Stamford, CT and Pawleys Island, SC

R. Howard Coker '85
CEO,  Sonoco Products
Hartsville, SC

Justin A. Converse '96
Chief Executive Officer, Converse and Company
Spartanburg, SC

English C. Flack '00
Pediatric Cardiologist
Nashville, TN

Jimmy I. Gibbs
President and Chief Executive Officer, Gibbs International
Spartanburg, SC

B. Shawan Gillians '04
Attorney, Director of Sustainability, Santee Cooper
Charleston, SC

David G. Johnson, '98
CEO, Morgan Corporation
Spartanburg, SC

Blanding U. Jones, '92
Cardiovascular Surgeon
Los Angeles, CA

Wade P. Keisler '80
Real Estate Developer
Lexington, SC

Timothy E. Madden '85
South Carolina Family Court Judge
Greenville, SC

William F. Malambri '98 (Secretary)
Senior Minister, Belin United Methodist Church
Murrells Inlet, SC

Monique McDowell '92
Senior Attorney, Southern Company
Stockbridge, GA

Jodie W. McLean
President and Chief Executive Officer, EDENS
Bethesda, MD

James C. Meadors '81
Owner and Chief Executive Officer, Meadors, Inc.
Charleston, SC

Craig D. Melvin '01
NBC News, Co-Anchor, TODAY Show
New York, NY

Steven W. Mungo '81
President and CEO, Mungo Homes
Charleston, SC

Gregory A. O'Dell '92
President, Oakview Group
Washington, DC

Costa M. Pleicones '65
Retired Chief Justice, Supreme Court of S.C.
Columbia, SC

George Murrell Smith, Jr. '90
Speaker, SC House of Representatives
Sumter, SC

Dorothy Acee Thomas '96
Gainesville, FL

Erin M. Watson '91
Truist Bank
Atlanta, GA

Joshua S. Whitley '05
Charleston, SC

William H. Willimon '68
Bishop (retired), United Methodist Church
Durham, NC

Lisa N. Yebuah '99
Minister, United Methodist Church
Raleigh, NC

Joyce Payne Yette '80
Managing Director, General Counsel
Promontory Financial Group
Washington, DC

Margaret G. Young '92
Partner, Price Waterhouse Coopers
Spartanburg, SC and Blacksburg, VA